58th Drama Desk Award Nominations Announced

DD WebNews
April 29, 2013

Monday, April 29: John Lloyd Young and Linda Lavin (in photo) announced the nominations for the 58th Drama Desk Awards at 54 below today. Musicals dominated the nominations: the top 13 different shows with multiple nominations were all musicals. The Public Theater's Giant and the Broadway production of Hands on a Hardbody received the most nominations of any show with 9 each, including Best Musical. The Royal Shakespeare Company's Matilda and Classic Stage Company's Off-Broadway mounting of Passion each received 7 nominations. The Broadway revival of Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? and Richard Greenberg's new play The Assembled Parties, produced by Manhattan Theatre Club, led all non-musicals with 4 nominations each. (Click on the AWARDS tab at the top of this page for the full list of nominations).

In addition, each year, Drama Desk bestows Special Awards "to recognize excellence and significant contributions to the theater." The awards for the 2012-2013 season will go to: The New York Musical Theatre Festival (NYMF), Isaac Robert Hurwitz, Executive Director and Producer; the puppet theater troupe Wakka Wakka (Gabrielle Brechner, Kirjan Waage, and Gwendolyn Warnock); actress Jayne Houdyshell; and playwright Samuel D. Hunter. Lighting designer Maruti Evans will receive the 2nd Annual Sam Norkin Off-Broadway Award for his designs, "reflecting an exquisite and bold theatrical aesthetic," according to the nominations committee. An Outstanding Ensemble Award will go to Working: A Musical, whose cast consisted of Marie-France Arcilla, Joe Cassidy, Donna Lynne Champlin, Jay Armstrong Johnson, Nehal Joshi, and Kenita R. Miller. 

The 2012-2013 Drama Desk Nominating Committee is composed of: Barbara Siegel, Chairperson (TalkinBroadway.com and freelance), David Kaufman (author and freelance), Samuel L. Leiter (Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Theatre, Brooklyn College and the Graduate Center), Martha Wade Steketee (urbanexcavations.com; editor and contributor, Chance Magazine), Adrian Wattenmaker (Theatre Faculty, Brooklyn College; Director, School of Creative and Performing Arts), and James Wilson (Professor of Theatre, CUNY; co-editor of Journal of American Drama and Theatre).

The Awards will be presented Sunday, May 19th at The Town Hall, produced by TheaterMania, under the guidance of Gretchen Shugart, Managing Executive Producer. Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show.