61st Drama Desk Awards Bestowed

June 5, 2016

The 61st annual Drama Desk Awards celebration was a merry affair. Michael Urie hosted the event at Town Hall on Sunday, June 5, 2016. Thirty-eight winners were announced in 37 categories, which included 5 Special Awards (John Doyle, The Color Purple, and Bartlett Sher, Fiddler on the Roof, tied for Outstanding Direction of a Musical). Doyle and Sher clearly proved their worth as their central performers, Cynthia Erivo and Danny Burstein (in photo), took the honors for Outstanding Lead Performance in a Musical. Shuffle Along won the Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Musical and the first ever Sam Norkin Award winner, Stephen Karam, won for Outstanding New Play for The Humans. The winners' list included a first-ever award for Outstanding Wig and Hair (Mia M. Neal, for Shuffle Along). And no one may have been merrier than Justin Townsend who won both lighting design awards for his work on the musical American Psycho and on The Humans, which also garnered an Outstanding Ensemble special honor.  For a full list of winners, click HERE. For more photos from this year's event, click HERE.