Drama Desk Awards’ Nominees Announcement Set for April 26

Drama Desk award winners John Lloyd Young (Jersey Boys) and Jan Maxwell (Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, The Royal Family) have been slated to announce the 2013 nominations for Drama Desk’s annual awards on April 26 at 11 AM ET at 54 Below. The 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards by will be presented May 19 at 8 PM at The Town Hall, according to Gretchen Shugart, managing executive producer. The awards show will be written by Bill Rosenfield and directed by Jack Cummings III (co-founder and artistic director of Transport Group). Drama Desk Awards, voted on and bestowed by theatre critics, journalists, editors and publishers covering theater “without any vested interest in the results,” are presented to honor outstanding achievement by professional theater artists on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway.

The 2012-2013 Drama Desk Nominating Committee comprises Barbara Siegel, Chairperson (TalkinBroadway.com and freelance); David Kaufman (author and freelance), Samuel L. Leiter (Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Theatre, Brooklyn College and the Graduate Center), Martha Wade Steketee (urbanexcavations.com; editor and contributor, Chance Magazine), Adrian Wattenmaker (Theater Faculty, Brooklyn College; Director, School of Creative and Performing Arts), and James Wilson (Professor of Theatre, CUNY; co-editor of Journal of American Drama and Theatre).

Date and Time: April 26, 2013 - 11:45am