The 62nd Annual Drama Desk Awards

Drama Desk’s annual celebration of this season’s outstanding achievements in theater in New York City will light up The Town Hall on Sunday, June 4th. Tickets can be purchased at Michael Urie again hosts this year’s awards. The Drama Desk Awards, which are presented annually, honor work by professional theater artists on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway. Drama Desk Awards are determined by the votes of its active membership which consists of critics, journalists, editors, publishers, and broadcasters covering New York theater.  For the sixth consecutive year, TheaterMania will present the awards ceremony and Joey Parnes Productions will produce and manage the show.  Gretchen Shugart is the Managing Executive Producer of the Drama Desk Awards. The show will be scripted by Bill Rosenfield and directed by Mark Waldrop (Not That Jewish, Howard Crabtree’s When Pigs Fly, Bea Arthur on Broadway: Just Between Friends). In addition to Gretchen Shugart as Managing Executive Producer, Robert R. Blume and David S. Stone are Executive Producers. The Drama Desk was founded in 1949 to explore key issues in the theater and to bring together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York. The organization began presenting its awards in 1955, and it is the only critics’ organization to honor achievement in the theater, with competition among Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway productions in the same categories.

Date and Time: June 4, 2017 - 8:00pm

Location: The Town Hall

123 W. 43rd St. (between 6th and 7th Avenues)

Cost: Starting at $64

For tickets, go to